Suivant

Par

,

avril 2017

L’auteure commente cette décision dans laquelle la Cour supérieure autorise l’action collective intentée par le demandeur contre Uber.
L’élément le plus intéressant de cette décision est assurément la considération et l’admission par le tribunal d’une preuve par inférence relativement aux dommages subis par les membres du groupe et leur causalité.


Par
décembre 2016

Les auteurs commentent cette décision de la Cour d’appel qui accueille l’appel, infirme le jugement de la Cour supérieure et autorise l’action collective intentée par la requérante. La décision est particulièrement importante, notamment en raison du long obiter de la formation commentant la pertinence – si pertinence il y a toujours – du processus d’autorisation tel qu’on le connaît aujourd’hui.


Par
juillet 2014

Les auteurs commentent cette décision dans laquelle la Cour supérieure confirme qu’une marque de commerce déposée en langue anglaise, sans version française et utilisée dans l’affichage public et la publicité commerciale, ne doit pas être accompagnée d’un terme descriptif de caractère générique en français pour respecter la Charte de la langue française et le Règlement sur la langue du commerce et des affaires.


Par
avril 2014

L’auteur commente cette décision dans laquelle la Cour supérieure a permis la preuve testimoniale du demandeur, qui tentait d’établir l’existence d’un acte juridique non écrit avec son ex-conjointe de fait, en l’occurrence une entente de prête-nom, en se basant sur l’article 2861 du Code civil du Québec, et ce, nonobstant le fait que la valeur du litige excédait 1 500 $.


Par
octobre 2012

L’auteur résume l’état du droit et les principes applicables à la requête pour permission d’interroger le requérant en matière de recours collectif avant l’autorisation. Il examine plus précisément la nouvelle tendance jurisprudentielle qui semble se développer depuis l’arrêt Allstate de la Cour d’appel.

Next

By
April 2017

The author comments on a decision of the Superior Court which authorized the class action initiated by the Petitioner against Uber.
This decision is particularly interesting, especially because of the consideration and admission by the court of an inferential evidence at the authorization stage regarding the damages suffered by the Group Members and their causation.
Note: The article is written in French.


By
December 2016

The authors comment on a decision of the Court of Appeal which granted the appeal, reversed the Superior Court’s decision and authorized the class action initiated by the petitioner. The decision is particularly important, namely because of the bench’s long obiter commenting on the relevance, if there is still relevance, of the authorization process as we know it today.
Note: The article is written in French.


By
July 2014

The authors comment on a decision in which the Superior Court confirmed that a registered trade-mark in the English language, without a French version, used in public signs and commercial advertising, must not be accompanied by a descriptive generic term in French in order to respect the Charter of the French Language and the Regulation respecting the language of commerce and business.

Note: The article is written in French.


By
April 2014

The author comments on a decision in which the Superior Court permitted the Plaintiff to attempt to prove the existence of a verbal contract with his former common law spouse, namely the existence of a prête-nom agreement, by way of his oral testimony alone, the whole based on Article 2861 of the Civil Code of Québec and notwithstanding the fact that the value in dispute exceeded $ 1,500.

Note: The article is written in French.


By
October 2012

The author summarizes the state of the law and principles applicable to a request for permission to examine the Petitioner of a Motion to Authorize the Bringing of a Class Action, before the authorization hearing. The author specifically examines the new jurisprudential trend that seems to have developed since the Judgment rendered by the Court of Appeal in the case of Allstate.

Note: This article is written in French.